Path of Transformation» Meditation

Transformation: Karma, Bad Habits, and the Ten Nonvirtues


In this video, Phakchok Rinpoche discusses the four levels of transformation. The first level of transformation is the purification of karma, the bad habits that we have accumulated throughout our lives. Buddha Shakyamuni taught the Ten Nonvirtues to make it clear what obscurations we must transform. These ten nonvirtues are subsumed into the three categories associated with actions of body, speech, and mind.

To be able to transform our obscurations, we need to take responsibility for our actions and believe in the inevitable results of our karma. Phakchok Rinpoche explains here that not believing in karma means that we are not taking responsibility for the effects of our actions.

You can read more about the role of Buddhist ethics in transforming the mind in this teaching from Khenpo Gyaltsen.

Related Courses

Phakchok Rinpoche
Phakchok Rinpoche guides students to recognize the essence of thought and to distinguish mind from awareness.
Phakchok Rinpoche
Phakchok Rinpoche guides students through a year-long experiential meditation practice program.
Phakchok Rinpoche
Using a classic Mahayana Sutra, Phakchok Rinpoche gives pithy practice advice covering five core topics on the Buddhist path.
Phakchok Rinpoche
Phakchok Rinpoche introduces a step-by-step approach to understanding how our minds function.
Matthew Zalichin
Approach the Buddha’s teachings gradually, learning how to integrate study, reflection, and meditation.
Dr. David Shlim gently guides us to make the connection between relaxed open mind and natural compassion.
Matthew Zalichin
In this course, Matthew Zalichin, resident teacher at Samye Hermitage New York, will lead students through the seminal text, The Seven Points of Mind Training, brought to Tibet by the great Atisha Dipamkara and committed to writing by Chekawa Yeshe Dorje.
Somananda Dharmanatha
Somānanda Yogi presents exercises designed to improve body pliancy from the Indian, Himalayan and South East Asian yogic traditions.
Neil Roberts
Trainer Neil Roberts presents a series of gentle stretches designed specifically to improve our mobility.